Product Review: Waves Gear Micro Towel

Waves2

I have a slight problem.  I am a towel snob.

I am very super picky about towels.  They can’t be too thick (because they start to smell bad fairly quickly).  They can’t be too thin (because they feel like cheap hotel towels then).  They need to be good-sized (because, let’s face it, I’m not the smallest guy on the planet).  I change my home shower towels way too frequently – resulting in a whole lot of laundry.

These quirks of mine also follow me to the pool.

I’m typically reluctant to try a new towel – especially a micro fiber towel.  My immediate reaction to non-cotton towels is that I connect the towel to the teeny towels that Olympic divers use.  Or to a Sham-Wow.  Typically, those micro-fiber towels are way too small, never really dry you off that well, become stiff as a board once you use them, and tend to hold on to odors no matter how frequently you wash them.

Imagine my trepidation about trying the Waves Micro Towel.

I suspected more of the same.  Stinky, hard, un-fulfilling towel experience.  I certainly did not go into testing this towel expecting that I’d like it.

But, you know what?  I was unexpectedly very (VERY) surprised!

The Waves Micro Towel is built 85% Polyester and 15% Polyamide.  No doubt you are familiar with Polyester.  I’d never heard of Polyamide before – but according to Google, Polyamide is a type of nylon fiber that is often used for mono-filaments and yarns.  This material is apparently extremely resistant to wear and tear.

As you can tell from the photo above, The Waves Micro Towel is not small.  In fact, the towel is down right large.  My “Regular” sized towel measures 27.5″ x 55″ (70 cm x 140 cm).  The “X-Large” is even bigger.  I found that this towel is large enough to really envelop me when I’m drying.  And, the towel is surprisingly light.  My towel tipped the scales at just 7 ounces (about 200 grams).

I was additionally surprised at how effective the towel was at actually drying me off.  Sometimes I’ve felt almost soaking wet after using other similar products.  Not so with the Waves Micro Towel.  My Waves towel soaks up water like a dry sponge.

As you might suspect, the Waves towel dries really quickly – much faster than a cotton towel.  Unlike some other micro fiber towels, the Waves towel does not get stiff.  You also don’t need to pack it into a plastic bag to retain moisture.  I hang my towel up just like any other pool towel and let it dry.  When I go to retrieve it the next time, it’s completely dry, soft, and perhaps best – DOES NOT SMELL!

There are two aspects about the Waves towel that I really like:  how small it packs and that it seriously works just like any old cotton towel.

I’ve used my towel extensively over the last six weeks or so, and I’ve honestly not been tempted to revert back to my old style cotton towels at all.

The Waves Micro Towel is not inexpensive – especially if you compare it to beach towel prices from a local surf shop or Wal Mart – but it won’t break the bank either.  The regular towel sells for $25 and the X-Large sells for $30.  You can purchase the towel through the Waves Gear online store (HERE).  Waves also sells some other products (sunglasses and some small duffle bags), so be sure to check those out too.  If you use the discount code Rev3-15off, you’ll save $15 on any order you place.

In short, I have been really pleased with my Waves Micro Towel – much more pleased than I expected.  This towel has become my go-to, and is honestly the only towel I take to the pool with me now.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

