Hey, Mr. Announcer Guy!

This past weekend, I was fortunate enough to spend time at a swim meet.

And if you have ever been to a swim meet, you know that they last forever.  And ever.  And ever.  They are just so SSSSSS-LLLLLLL-OOOOOO-WWWWWW.  I mean, I think paint dries faster.

Over the years, I’ve spent more than my fair share of time at meets.  My son swims, and typically is in half a dozen or more meets per year.  I typically just sit in the stands with the other parents (he’s too old to want to sit with Dad any longer), only getting up to go watch him race.  It makes for a long, long day typically.

So here’s the kicker about this past Saturday’s swim meet:  My son wasn’t swimming.  And I still spend the entire morning there.

I was called upon to be the meet announcer.  I had the opportunity to be the “voice” of the meet.  You know – the guy introducing the races, announcing the results, telling people where the bathrooms and snack bar are, giving shout-outs.  That guy.

SwimMike

It was a BLAST!

It was a chance for me to rekindle my fondness for talking into a microphone.  To hear my voice broadcast across open space.  To remember my days as a radio DJ.

TriMadness in the studio at WASU-FM (the campus station at Appalachian State University) in 1991.

TriMadness in the studio at WASU-FM (the campus station at Appalachian State University) in 1991.

Apparently, I was using my “DJ voice”, as I had lots of kids come up to me just to tell me that I sounded so different over the PA system.  Maybe I was just channeling my inner James Earl Jones.  Perhaps there was a lot of bass in the speakers.  Who knows?

This may well be the way I choose to spend many more of my Saturday mornings.

Just hand me the mic.

