One Mile At A Time

It’s been a tough year for me so far from a running perspective. 

I’ve literally only run three times all year due to a pretty nasty bout of plantar fasciitis.  About three weeks ago, I visited a local podiatrist for an evaluation, and was diagnosed with a partially torn plantar fascia.  He took x-rays, did an ultrasound of my heel, felt around (causing me a lot of pain) and then gave me a cortisone shot (causing me even more pain).  I was advised to be fairly aggressive with stretching, icing, and some exercises.  I’ve been a good patient, and followed this protocol almost perfectly (shocking, I know).

Yesterday, I went back to the podiatrist for a follow-up appointment and got some really good news.  I am able to start running again!

Of course, I can’t run far.  Or frequently.  But I can run!

“HE CAN RUN!  HE CAN RUN!  HE CAN RUN” (invoking a phrase from Disney’s Peter Pan…”He can fly! He can fly! He can fly!”)

And so, tonight, I’ll run.  One mile.  Slowly.  It’ll be a run, nevertheless.  Hopefully it won’t hurt too much – either during or after.  Frankly, I’m a little nervous about it.  I don’t want to make the injury worse – and I sure as heck don’t want to suffer the pain again.  I’m also really, really excited.  I’ve been WANTING to run.  That is the absolute worst thing – to really want to do something, but not be allowed to do it.

If you haven’t entered the TriMadness March Madness triathlon contest & giveaway yet – DO SO NOW!  The contest is open for a few more days, and you can rack up lots of entries for very little effort.  Click the logo below!

MMadnessLogo

2 thoughts on “One Mile At A Time

Comments are closed.