One of the Best Blogs I’ve Ever Read

It’s funny how social media works.

In a lot of ways, it’s sort of like having a giant game of telephone.  Remember that game from when we were kids?  One person would tell a friend something.  Then that person would share that with someone else.  Then that person would do the same.  And so on and so on.  Sort of like that old Prell commercial, “She’ll tell two friends, and she’ll tell two friends…”  Things blow up and become viral. 

We’ve all seen examples of things that have gone viral.  Good things.  Funny things.  Amazing things.  Justin Bieber things. 

Another really cool thing about social media is that it’s a way to share stories and information across broad swaths of people.

That’s what leads me to the post today.

I’ve thought for a long time that I was fairly “plugged in” to the world of social media in triathlon.  I follow a ton of folks on Twitter.  My Google reader has a ton of blogs in it every day.  I’m Facebook friends with triathletes all over the place.  Surely there is little that I haven’t seen or read or been exposed to.

Wrong.

This morning, I clicked on a hyperlink that was Tweeted out by Rev3 Triathlon.  This link was to a blog post written by Chad Nikazy called “How Revolution Changes Everything”.  At the end of the article, there was a hyperlink to Chad’s blog (www.trifatherhood.com).  Having really liked the post that Chad wrote on Rev3’s site, I decided to click over to Chad’s blog.

I’m so glad I did.

You know how you occasionally find something so well written you become absorbed?  For some folks the Harry Potter series did that.  The Bible certainly does that for others.  Even fringe stuff has the same pull (think Harlequin Romance books) for some folks.  Well, Chad’s blog had the same effect on me.

Chad’s blog is certainly about triathlon.  But moreover, it’s about life.  It’s a story – a testament if you will – that he’s writing for his three children.  And it’s awesomely well written. 

In some way, Chad’s blog has caused me to re-center myself.  To consider why I do triathlon.  To consider my role as a father and husband. 

This might be one of the best blogs I’ve read in a long time – and trust me…I read a LOT of blogs.  If you haven’t read Chad’s blog before, go check it out.  You won’t be sorry that you did.

