Resignation

I have been a triathlete for about seven years now.  I’ve completed just about every race distance that’s out there, from sprint to iron-distance.  I’ve run everything from 5k’s to marathons. 

And up until now, I’ve done 90% of my training in the afternoon or early evenings.

It is insanely difficult for me to drag my sorry butt out of the house for an early morning workout.  It’s dark.  It’s too cold.  Someone’s sprinkler system is on.  The coffee smells too good.  My pillow is still warm.  I have to make the kids’ lunches.  I’m not fast enough to swim at Master’s.  There are mosquitos out.  There’s bacon in the fridge.

Excuses.  I’m full of them.

But alas, life is crazy in the TriMadness house.  Our three kids are all involved in some sport or another.  Of course, those events happen in the evenings.  None of them is driving-age (yet.  t-minus 60 days until that happens).  So Mrs. TM and I do a lot of the ferrying around.  Correction.  She does most of it.  I do some.  Regardless, it’s becoming tougher and tougher to get workouts in at night.  Unless I want to start my workout at 9pm.

And so, I’m resigning.  More appropriately, I’m resigned.  I’m resigned to the fact that in order for me to have any semblance of training rigor, I need to get up in the morning and get going.  I need to hit the pool when it’s dark and cold.  I need to man up, put on my lights and get out running when it’s dark.  I figure I can multitask a little – for example, instead of reading the newspaper over coffee at the kitchen counter, I can read it on my tablet over a bottle of PowerBar Perform and some one-legged drills on my bike trainer.

There.  I’ve said it.  I resign.  I resign from late-night workouts.

Now I just need to hold myself accountable to that resignation and actually do it.

8 thoughts on “Resignation

  1. I’m with you. I have done everything I can do to avoid early-AM workouts, but I’m going to have to get used to them if I’m going to keep up any serious training. Best of luck to you!

  2. I just can’t do it myself yet. It is why I would run or ride while daughter was at basketball practice (and will start that again when volleyball starts). It is why I often combine errands with my exercise. But I only have 2 kids. Maybe that makes is easier. Best wishes as you fight the cold and dark.

  3. So how’s this working? I need to start putting in the early AM workouts and would love to hear how this is going for you. Can you put coffee in a water bottle?? Would that be bad?

Comments are closed.