Winter? What Winter?

Many folks in the U.S. have been experiencing a spate of unseasonably warm weather over the last week or so.  This is absolutely the case here in Florida, where over the past weekend we saw daytime temperatures near 80 degrees. 

This wonderful weather certainly facilitated lots of outdoor swimbikerun over the weekend.  Tons of folks were down in Orlando for the Disney marathon and half-marathon.  Despite the warm temperatures, it seems that lots of folks had great races. 

Me?  I spent literally the entire weekend outside.

I was fortunate enough to do a little camping with my youngest daughter Friday night through yesterday morning.  We camped at a state park in St. Augustine, FL (otherwise known as the oldest city in the U.S.).  We had an amazing time:  ate like pigs, made s’mores, walked on the beach at night while stargazing (we found Jupiter, among other things), and took an awesome 4 hour boat ride.

After camping, I decided to hit the roads on my trusty Quintana Roo!

bike

My ride was relatively short – just 25 miles – but oh what a wonderful time!  To be able to cycle without winter gear on was such a treat!

Our forecast this week calls for continued warm weather…through Thursday at least.  That will mean I get to do quite a bit more stuff outside!

The only problem?  The unseasonably warm weather has tricked all the plants….some are starting to bloom, and the pollen is terrible right now!

Hoping you’re enjoying great weather where you are, too!

5 thoughts on “Winter? What Winter?

  1. Yeah..it was 4 out this AM on my run. Plenty of sweat frost and sweat-cicles on my running clothes.

  2. While not quit as warm in Boston, we are hitting a similar weather pattern. As a skier, I hate it. Not only is the snow melting, but all I’m left with is MUD EVERYWHERE. I should have picked cyclocross back up again. Ugh.

  3. Enjoy it while you can. Similar to Phil (must be somewhere in the midwest) it was single digits yesterday, today hit low 20’s, and it felt like a heat wave. What I wouldn’t give for a day or two in the 80’s just to mix it up a little this winter.

Comments are closed.