Ooh That Smell!

One of the most creative guys I know is a fellow called Paul Snyder.  Paul is a graphic designer, a “church guy”, and a really good runner.  Moreover, he’s a guy whom I have looked up to for many years.  Paul does some really amazing graphic arts work (check out his website for examples), and writes a really, really good blog.

Not too long ago, Paul wrote a really funny blog post called “Paul and the Yankee Candle” where he talked about smells.  You know, Yankee Candle really makes a ton of candles with just about every fragrance possible.

Paul’s post touched on some of his favorite smells.  Smells that should be made into candles.  Things like rubber cement.  Fried chicken.  Armor All. 

His post got me thinking.  I agree.  There are lots of smells that I really like and would love to have as a candle (or as Paul so eloquently puts it….a huffing agent). 

So I went to Yankee Candle’s website to see a full list of fragrances they have.  What to my surprise did I find?  They make a whole line of “Man Candles”.  Smells like 2×4, First Down, and Riding Lawnmower.

I think they’re on to something here.

But they could expand the line with more manly smells.  Maybe these smells:

  • Popcorn
  • Bacon
  • Campfire smoke
  • Jet fuel
  • Gym shoe
  • Baseball glove
  • Burning Oil
  • Charcoal lighter fluid
  • Bar bathroom
  • Musty football gear
  • Armpit
  • Fart

Any other smells you’d like to see?

2 thoughts on “Ooh That Smell!

Comments are closed.