‘Tis NOT the Season…

dr-seuss-how-the-grinch-stole-christmas

OK.  Let me clarify.  Technically, ’tis the Season.  It’s time where you may see other triathletes putting up blog posts with their holiday wishes, Christmas lists, and then a little later on, their goals for next year.  Folks are shopping, decorating, and getting ready to celebrate.

But, on the other hand, ’tis not the season.  Triathlon season, that is (at least in the Northern Hemisphere).

For those of us in the US, most of us are dealing with cold, early darkness, and other weather elements that might keep us from doing much training.  And that’s perfectly acceptable.

December is a great time to rest the body.  To recharge.  Rest.  Eat.  Especially if what you are eating is cookies.  🙂

Personally, I’ve taken a four-week rest since my last race.  I literally haven’t done anything.  Well – that’s a lie.  I’ve run a couple of times and I did a cross-fit type workout (boy, that hurt).  But I’ve refused to set up my trainer, hit the pool or do anything structured.

That’s about to change.  Perhaps a better headline for this post would have been ‘Tis Almost The Season.

So enjoy some rest time.  Put your legs up.  Chill.  Relax.  (Chillax?).  Recover mentally.

For with 2013 comes a new flurry of swimming, cycling, running and other fun activity!

 

One thought on “‘Tis NOT the Season…

Comments are closed.