The Alien in My Legs

Did you ever see the movie “Alien”?  Not “Alien vs. Predator” or “Alien Ressurection” or any of the other sequels (or even, I suppose, “Prometheseus”).  The original “Alien”.  The 1979 version.

If you did, you’ll remember the scene where the alien bursts out of some poor astronaut’s chest.  In case you need a visual reminder, this picture should refresh your memory…

One of the cooler scenes from the 1979 movie “Alien” where the young alien is about to burst out of some dude’s chest. I have a similar looking episode in my calves after every bike ride…

You may be wondering how on Earth this is going to relate to triathlon, but rest assured, it does.

After each and every time I go cycling, I feel like I have an alien living in my legs.  More specifically, it lives in my calves. 

For seemingly 30 minutes or so after every ride, my calves twitch.  You can literally watch the muscles firing in weird random patterns.  Literally as if there were an alien creature under there trying to find a way out.  It doesn’t hurt at all (in fact, I can hardly feel it) – so these aren’t real “cramps”.

I did some research over the weekend (I consulted the All-Mighty….Google).  Apparently, these micro-spasms could be caused by a couple of different things:  I could be dehydrated (maybe), I could have too much caffeine in my system (more likely), or they could just be the result of muscle fatigue (even more likely). 

The micro-spasms don’t bother me; they just look weird.

I keep waiting for some creature with sharp teeth and acid for blood to pop out of my calves.

2 thoughts on “The Alien in My Legs

  1. After a century a few years ago, a guy was laying in the grass and his entire quads were twitching as if they were trying to detach themselves from his body. It was wild to watch.

    And since this roadie prided himself on doing the whole century in 90 degrees with only two bottles of water, I’m pretty sure dehydration was the culprit.

  2. Athletes from amateur to professional level all experience muscle fatigue at some point. The people who tend to suffer the most however are surprisingly those who are less active. Many regard professional athletes as much more likely to have complications with muscle fatigue, however in terms of how the muscles use energy those who are less active than professionals are at a distinct disadvantage.It is very important to understand that when you are working out, you are slowly wearing down the muscles and burning all of the energy that is provided to the muscles as well. Because of the energy that the muscles burn not being able to be replaced into the muscle quite as quickly as it is burned this causes muscle fatigue to become a problem. Sports medicine professionals are all well knowledgeable in exactly how to help professional athletes reduce the problems they experience from muscle fatigue. :

    Remember to look over our very own web portal
    <i="http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/broken-rib-symptoms/

Comments are closed.