The Multisport Bucket List

Certainly, you’ve heard of the bucket list.  Or at least the concept of a bucket list.  It’s a list of things that you’d like to accomplish before you die.  Or turn 40.  (To some, those milestones are one and the same).

Of course, The Bucket List was a movie back in 2007 starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman.  This is not so much about the movie but more about the concept.

So many of us have lists of things we’d like to accomplish during our lifetime.  Some folk’s lists are more altruistic than others.  For example, you could want to “rescue a dog or cat from a shelter”, “make a tangible difference in someone’s life”, “find a cure to cancer” or just “be happy”.  Other folk’s list are more selfish, and could include things like: “earn a million dollars”, “own a Ferrari”, “Find a beautiful wife/husband”.

Multisport athletes are no exception to the rule.  We love to have lists of things we either want to do, things we want to buy, or things we’d love to accomplish. 

For the longest time, my bucket list included (1) do a marathon and (2) become an Ironman.  My list wasn’t a “do it before I die” list, but rather a “do it for my 40th” list.  I set out in 2009 to do both of these things, and lo and behold, I did.  In February 2009 I ran my first marathon (26.2 with Donna, The National Marathon to End Breast Cancer) and then in November completed Ironman Florida (after DNF’ing at IMKY in August).  To say that these two events were significant accomplishments is an understatement – as anyone who has completed these knows first hand. 

I’m not sure that I have a multisport bucket list any longer.  At least, I don’t have one that is quite as specific as it used to be.  Doing an Ironman no longer caries the same cache…but doing another iron distance race is certainly on the list.  Qualifying for the National Age Group Championships is probably on the list – but I’m not sure that’s a real, attainable goal for me.  Same with qualifying for Boston.  I’d love to do it, but wonder if I have the ability and time to get myself there. 

So I think my bucket list is smaller now.  More concise and much more tactical.  I’d like to go faster than 3:00 for an Olympic tri.  I’d like to go sub-6:00 for a half iron race.  I’d love to run a 10k in 50 minutes; swim a 1.5k open water swim in 29 minutes. 

Yeah – I’ve got a bucket list.  Maybe it’s better for me to just call it a “goal list” but to me it’s still a “bucket list” as a couple of the items on that list would be pretty transformational for me.

What would you love to do?  What is on your multisport bucket list?

3 thoughts on “The Multisport Bucket List

  1. Mine are similar. Qualifying for Boston for sure. Also NYC Marathon. An Iron distance event (eeek!), a sub 5:30 70.3, Big Sur Marathon…and lots of other time-based goals.

  2. I want to participate in an XPD adventure race. That’s my multisport bucket list goal. I’ve got a long way to go but on Sunday I’m participating in my first adventure race – the 6-hour Adventure Race Australia. It’s nowhere near the 10 day XPD but every journey starts with a single step 🙂

    I’m also volunteering at the Geoquest 48 hour event this June to get an insider’s view of longer adventure races and hope to get time off work next year to volunteer at the XPD Australia … That’ll also give me credit points to discounted event entry too 😉

  3. Pingback: Bucket Lists « Good Girls Inc

Comments are closed.