Mumblings on a Monday

  • Contador’s a cheater:  Confirming what Tour de France fans have known for two years, Alberto Contador is officially a cheater now.  The Court of Arbitration for Sport today affirmed lower court rulings that Contador was guilty of doping when he tested positive for the drug clenbuterol during the 2010 Tour.  As part of the ruling, Contador was stripped of his 2010 Tour championship – a feat only equalled one other time, by American Floyd Landis in 2006.
  • But Lance isn’t:  At least according to the U.S. Justice Department, who on Friday dropped all investigation into whether Armstrong doped, defrauded the government and committed conspiracy or racketeering while he was part of the U.S. Postal Service team.  The seven-time Tour de France champion was essentially given a clean slate (criminally) as a result of the dropped investigation, but USADA is apparently still committed to investigate whether Armstrong doped during his reign as the world’s most dominant cyclist.
  • Either Way, it’s Probably Not the End of the World:  Let’s face it.  I don’t think the ruling on Contador or Armstrong does anything to change the fact that doping in cycling is seemingly commonplace.  It’s probably naive for us to not think that most of the top cyclists in the world are probably doping (or have doped previously).  I’m an eternal optimist, but two confirmed strikes against Tour de France winners – and numerous others in the peloton – have really deteriorated my faith in that sport.
  • Slowtwitch is on fire:  The folks on Slowtwitch certainly have their opinions on Armstrong.  Some are supportive, some aren’t.  But most of the comments are targeted at each other – which makes for pretty funny reading (here).
  • Oh, Where Did My Chin Go?”:  In the musical spirit of Larry the Cucumber and the other VeggieTales guys’ hit song “Oh, Where is my Hairbrush?” this morning I sang myself an altered lyrical version called “Oh, Where Did My Chin Go?”.  This is not due to my affinity for the VeggieTales, but rather a testimony to the weight I’ve gained since October.  14 pounds.  The resulting triple chin is quite shocking.  I am so far removed from race-weight it’s depressing.  Given I’m only 30 weeks from Cedar Point, it’s time to rededicate myself to training (and weight loss).

  • Super Bowl Thoughts:  Last night, the winter holiday season ended officially with the playing of the Super Bowl.  The three-month gluttony known as winter is officially over now.  We all know the Giants won.  I was sort of agnostic as to which team won, but I found myself rooting for the Giants as the game wore on.  Perhaps it’s because coach Tom Coughlin used to coach the Jaguars.  Perhaps it’s because I have an intense dislike for Tom Brady (probably due to his significant quarterbacking skills, his bazillions of dollars of income each year, and the fact that he’s married to a supermodel).  I thought the halftime show was lacking.  I used to like Madonna back in the day (that day tended to fall in the 1980’s)….but the reality of it is that she has become this century’s version of Elton John to me.  Ironic, isn’t it, that Elton John was featured on a commercial during the game?  I thought several of the commercials were good – I really liked the one with the boy who had to use the bathroom throughout and the Hyundai (I think) ad where the cheetah who was supposed to race the car turned and attacked some random dude.  Folks in the office this morning are raving on the Clint Eastwood ad – I didn’t see it, so no comment from me.  I also liked the Doritos ad with the Great Dane who ate the family cat.
  • Why Give Flowers for V-Day?  Seriously.  Flowers die in a matter of days.  Why not give the triathlete love-of-your-life a chance to get rid of the smell of chlorine?  Head over to Tri-Swim’s website (here) and get yourself a great deal on the best anti-chlorine shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion in the market.  And you’ll save, 20% too.

5 thoughts on “Mumblings on a Monday

  1. I know every word to ‘Where is My Hairbrush?’!! And whenever i hear someone start a question with, ‘..where is my…’, I jump in with ‘hairbrush’ before they can finish. And now I’m going to be singing it all day… Also; I’m glad Contador was found guilty. He shouldn’t have won The Tour. Schlek should have won, but had that oh so memorable chain drop…when Contador played his ‘I have no class’ card and flew past him. So i’m happy about the ruling. And because his excuse was obvious BS.

  2. You know… I read that you can gain up to 10% of your race weight in post season and it’s all good. That’s what I’m telling myself! 🙂

    What is up with Slow Twitch? People have too much time on their hands!

Comments are closed.