One Month In & Already Behind Schedule!

Well, here we are at the end of the first month of 2012.  The year is roughly 8% done.  1/12th over.  The clock is spinning, and of course there’s no stopping it.

And I’m officially behind where I wanted to be.

How sad is that?

Even though I’m not “really” training for much right now, I am supposed to be in the midst of a general “prep” phase that should last through February.  At the beginning of the year, I laid out my plans for the year (here) which include swimming a quarter million yards, running at least 750 miles, and biking at least 1600 miles.  Well, one month down, and I’m lagging against those goals.

So far, I have swum exactly 11,700 yards, cycled 16 miles, and ran exactly zero miles.  That translates to 56.16% of my swim target, 12% of my cycling target and a big goose-egg on the run.  Spectacular.

Why did I miss?  No excuses here – I just didn’t prioritize my training compared to other things.  I didn’t get my butt out of bed in the mornings to run or ride the bike trainer.  I let work get in the way (dang – who needs a job anyway?).  I spent time with my family.  Valid reasons for not training, for sure, but those things don’t do anything to help meet my training goals – or my weight, for that matter.

And so, I’ve recalibrated my targets for February as a result of my miss.  In order for me to hit those targets I laid out at the beginning of the year, I now have to up my swim yards for February (and forward) to 22,000 yards swimming, 144 miles on the bike and 68 miles running.  Those break down to roughly 5425 yards swimming, 36 miles on the bike and 17 miles running.  Extremely do-able.

Time to get busy!

