The 30-Day Love Note Project

Normally, this blog is just about triathlon, endurance sports, etc.  I thought I’d take a break and share with you something I’ve been doing for the last several weeks.

If you’ve been a reader for any time at all, you know that I’m a family man.  I’ve been married for a little over 18 years and have three awesome kids.  I’d say that I have been really blessed.  My wife is really a super lady.  Great mother, my best friend, hard-working, loyal, loving.  Literally, she’s been a God-send to me.

My wife, Jennifer, and I in Puerto Rico during the summer of 2011

Like every relationship, we’ve had some great times, some less than great times.  Those cycles are inherent in all relationships.  The thing with seriously long-term relationships is that sometimes they seem to lose the “spark” that you felt when you first started dating, first got married, etc.  It’s life.  Folks get comfortable and take things for granted.

I’m a firm believer that doesn’t have to happen in a relationship.  So, I try really hard to reinforce to my wife how happy I am with our life together, how much I love her, and how much I really feel like our relationship is still “new”.

Thinking back over the years, my wife has always enjoyed when I’ve left her notes.  My notes were never much – just a quick “have a good day” or “I love you”.  Regardless, she always enjoyed them.  Recently, I embarked on a special “project” in which I hope to reaffirm for her our love and bond by leaving her daily love notes.

My notes are simple – they are always on an index card, and I have always left them on her pillow.  That way she finds the note every night before she gets into bed.  I’ve told her things like how great a mother she is, how she’s my best friend, how pretty she looked that day, etc.  Nothing huge – just thoughtful comments. 

I think she’s really enjoyed the notes.  It’s certainly reaffirmed our love for each other, and is a great reminder of how, despite lasting multiple years, a marriage or relationship can always have that “newness”. 

If you’re in a relationship, I’d encourage you to do something similar.  Take 30 days and leave a note for your loved one.  Do it every day.  You can leave them in the same spot or change it up.  There’s really no rhyme or reason to it…other than to show love and respect and faithfulness to your spouse or partner.  Reaffirm how important that person is to you.  How your life would be so utterly different without him or her.  Show the love.

And guys – before you roll your eyes and think this is some sissy thing and I should burn my man-card, think again.  As men, we’re charged to love and honor our wives.  It’s a responsibility we should not take lightly.  And trust me…there are added benefits too.

5 thoughts on “The 30-Day Love Note Project

  1. That is an absolutely awesome idea and I think I will do something like that. Thanks for sharing and may you and your wife have a long life full of love and happiness!

  2. I LOVE that!! I think I will start today! With a job, two kids and training my hubby often feels like he comes last – what a great way to remind him daily that he’s my #1!!

  3. I love this! And you two are a beautiful couple…what I am wondering is how you can be married for 18 years though?! Did you get married when you were 15?!

Comments are closed.