Building Blocks

As a kid, I loved to play with Lego’s.  It was always fun to build and create things.  That joy hasn’t disappeared – when my kids (mostly my son) were younger, we’d spend hours building cool stuff with Lego’s.  My creations always seemed to be spaceships (hey, I grew up on a steady diet of Star Wars).

Now I get to build something else.  A better me. 

For most of us, triathlon season is over for 2011.  Mine ended in October at Rev3 Anderson.  With 2012 right around the corner, it’s time to get rolling again.

I took four weeks off after Anderson.  I literally did nothing.  No physical activity of any kind (unless you count drinking some wine, some beer and eating too much).  I didn’t run.  I sure as heck didn’t swim.  My bike tires have gone flat from non-use.

This week, I embarked on a journey to become a better triathlete.  Believe it or not, this is a big deal.  I’m notoriously bad at laying the proper foundation for a triathlon season.  Take 2011, for example.  Despite having a marathon on the books in February, I really did very little training.  Sure, I ran, but I didn’t swim, bike or lift weights.  I totally neglected my core – except for when I looked in the mirror and had evil thoughts about throwing a brick through the glass.

So this year, I’m prepping….officially. 

I’ll spend the rest of November and all of December doing general prep work.  I’m not going to go at my training with a “plan” – I’m just going to do “something”.  Each day.  A little run here.  A swim there.  Weights today.  Plyometrics tomorrow.  Maybe a Cross-Fit class.  God knows, maybe Zumba.

Thus far, I’m batting 100%.  I’ve done all the workouts I mentally set out to do.  I have even done work on my core (I’m planking….which, by the way, is hard as hell if you have a weak core).

Even though the calendar still says it’s 2011, for the triathlete in me, it’s already 2012.  Time to lay the foundation for a packed 2012.  For now, my workouts are like Lego’s.  Some are two-holers, some are six-holers.  Together, come spring, I’ll have built a solid athlete.

2 thoughts on “Building Blocks

  1. I have yet to figure out how to xfer from base to build, I am studying Friel on how to do it

    Maybe zumba is the key to great racing?

  2. I’m the same way. I always have big goals for the build and usually end up hating myself by December due to the laziness. I really slacked after IMWI and I’d like to blame an injury, but I was also mentally fried. I started a similar build approach about 3 weeks ago and even if I only do 30 minutes I am happy. I can’t run or even use the elliptical due to my foot, but have been biking indoors and outdoors and trying new things like the step mill and the rowing machine and it’s been great. I really need to get going on the core work though, your post inspired me.

Comments are closed.