It’s Friday….You Could Use Some Randomness

It’s been a while since I’ve written a “random things” post.  And while I enjoy writing about something with “meat”, it’s also fun to give quick hits of information.  Sort of like Twitter.  Just longer.

  • If you haven’t read this blog, you need to go check it out!  I really like BDD’s writing style a ton.  Over the past several weeks, he’s posted two really awesome posts.  I REALLY enjoyed his Top Ten Transition Tips.  Continuing his public service for newbie triathletes, BDD’s post about T-shirt rules is a must read.
  • What do trail running, mud pits, barbed wire and fire have in common?  Besides being critical components of every Rambo movie, these are all parts of a type of race that I’d like to give a try sometime.  You may have heard of Warrior Dash, Spartan Races, Mud Runs or something similar.  Essentially, it looks like these are all 10k or so long races combining running, climbing over things, crawling under things, etc.  They look incredibly fun – but they also sound hard.  One of my Trakkers teammies (Heather) has done several of these.  Check out her blog for a recap of her most recent event…then search her archives for her experience with the Warrior Dash. 

    My Trakkers teammie Heather at the Warrier Dash!

  • I know you like a good web contest as much as I do.  Be sure to go check out this cool contest for a chance to win a Garmin of your choice.  Just don’t enter it…because you’ll be reducing my chances of winning!  OK – you can enter it, but you must promise to give me the Garmin if you win it.  Not really.  But you should.  It’d be like Christmas for me.  While you’re over looking at the website, consider making a donation too.  The money goes towards fighting cancer. 
  • Following up on my “Running Prophet” post from yesterday.  I had my first run with Mr. Prophet himself.  We logged just under 4.2 miles in 35:44 — an average pace of 8:32/mile!  Our second mile was 8:02…which was BY FAR the fastest mile I’ve run in probably 25 years.  I was pretty trashed by the end of the run, but I was totally encouraged by my performance. 
  • Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve had a few conversations about Hood to Coast.  That seems like something fun, and might be worth attempting down the road.  I’ve heard that actually getting a spot for a team in this event is almost harder than signing up for an Ironman race.
  • Speaking of triathlon and Oregon….this weekend marks the inaugural running of Rev3’s race in Portland!  Several of my Trakkers teammates are racing, and the pro line-up is stellar as usual.  Best of luck to everyone racing!
2 thoughts on “It’s Friday….You Could Use Some Randomness

  1. I love random posts – I actually also prefer to publish stuff with more “meat” but I have IM Mush brain and can only talk in 140 characters or less.

    I want to do a Warrior Dash.

    The GPS is MINE 😉

  2. Thanks for the heads up on the contest… I told him to give you my winnings – JUST KIDDING!!

    I am doing my first Warrior Dash this December at Quiet Waters Park in Deerfield Beach, FL… Can’t wait!

Comments are closed.