Stuck in my Mind

Running is a simple thing.  We lace up our shoes and head out.  Many of us must have music while we run.  While I’ve certainly talked about my need to run with an iPod, I also get running at its simplest

I used to be one of those guys that never left the house without music.  Now I rarely wear my iPod when I run.  Actually wearing one now seems like such a chore.  The wires get in the way.  Sweat gets in and destroys the electronics.  Too much wax build up on the ear buds.  There are just so many things to think and worry about now.

All this being said – it’s not as if I run without music.  I’ve found that I tend to get a song stuck in my head and it just repeats and repeats – sort of like a broken record.  And, for whatever reason, the songs often aren’t that good.  I’ve had Disney songs stuck in my head.  “Whip It” by Devo.  “Over the Rainbow”.  Recently, I’ve had a Jimmy Buffett song stuck in my head.  You might think it’s one of his more popular songs, like “Margaritaville” or “Cheesburger in Paradise”. 

Nope.  Just a random Buffet song.  “Cuban Crime of Passion”.  And not the whole thing either.  Just the chorus. 

At this point, I’m not sure which is worse.  Dealing with all the iPod crap or having random songs stuck in my head. 

I guess it could be worse.  It could be the Barney theme song…..”I love you.  You love me.  We’re a happy fam-i-ly.  With a great big hug…..”  I can’t go on.  Now I WILL have that song stuck in my head.  Maybe you will too…

3 thoughts on “Stuck in my Mind

  1. I do the same thing 🙂 I’ve found myself doing that a lot on the bike lately too…I have to encourage myself to find a new song when I realize I’m plodding along because the song in my head is a slow ballad.

Comments are closed.