The Ultimate Age Group Triathlete

Charles Futrell is a triathlete.  You may never have heard of him before.

Credit: Orlando Sentinel

This past weekend, Charles completed the Central Florida Triathlon Series # 2 sprint in Clermont, FL. He completed the event in an outstanding time of 2:18:38. 

While that time might not seem all that inspiring, keep in mind this fact:  Charles is 90 years old.  He is the oldest man to complete a USAT sanctioned triathlon.  (Read more here).

I am so impressed by this guy.  I can only hope that when I’m 90 years old that I’ve still got enough energy, stubborness, and gumption to be running triathlons.  What an achievement!

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Age Group Triathlete

  1. I want this to be me some day. And you totally need to get him on for the next 10 question post like Kelly said. Any idea how long he has been racing?

  2. I want to be this guy when I grow up. Screw trying to get to Kona in my 20’s and 30’s. I’m thinking LONG term. I want to be there when I am 100.

Comments are closed.