Downhill Swimming

I don’t usually write too much here about my workouts.  Occassionally, though, I have a workout that either leaves me so wiped out, torn down, or deflated I have to write about it.  On the other hand, sometimes I have a tremendous workout; something that I think is worthy of bragging about.

Last night’s swim workout was one of the ones I am proud of, and thought I’d share.

Photo from Speedo

 

 I was a little pressed for time when I got to the pool.  Normally, I compete for space with the swim team.  Typically there’s one lane left over for lap swimming.  More times than not, there’s one or two people in the lane swimming.  Not a huge deal – I don’t mind circle swimming…and by the time I’m getting to the back half of my set, my lane has typically emptied out.  Last night, when I got to the pool, there were four people in the lap lane.

So I sat on the side of the pool and waited.

And waited…

And waited…

Finally, at 7:15 or so, a couple of guys got out of the lane and I was able to get in.  Our pool closes at 8:00.  Knowing that I didn’t have a lot of time, I decided to scrap my pre-planned set in lieu of a quick warm-up and a straight 1200 yard swim.

Out of habit, I started my stopwatch when I pushed off for the swim.  At 250 yards, I felt like I was swimming pretty well; I looked at my watch and was at 5:30.  At that point, I decided I’d turn what I thought might be a steady swim into a time trial effort.

I swam on, feeling really good.  This is odd for me, as the swim is probably my least favorite segment of triathlon – and one that I’m least comfortable with.

My arm cadence was comfortable; I was hitting almost the same number of strokes on each lap.  I was breathing bilaterally some.  In general, I felt good.

When I finished and looked at my watch, I was pleasantly surprised.  1200 yards in 23:43 – or slightly under 2:00/100 yards.  I took the last 100 yards in 1:28.

This was – by far – my fastest swim ever!

3 thoughts on “Downhill Swimming

  1. Congrats! I love when I start a swim feeling good, look at my watch and realize that I can turn the workout into a killer TT. Such a good feeling.

Comments are closed.