>McGluttony

>Special sauce, anyone??  You may have read this week that a Wisconsin man recently consumed his 25,000th Big Mac.  In the process, this guy ingested close to 12 million (MILLION) calories and enough grams of fat to grease Clark Griswold’s saucer sled for an eternity.

Now that I’m officially more than a little grossed out, the real question is how the hell does he know he ate that many?  And how does he not get tired of eating the same thing every day?

I don’t know about you, but if I eat the same thing more than, say, three days in a row I get really tired of it.  He ate Big Macs every day for 29 years!  I think I’d rather gouge my eyeballs out with a spork than eat the same thing every day for most of my life. 

Seriously, though, I am curious as to how he kept track of how many burgers he ate.  Did he keep the wrappers to all 25,000?  Did he use Excel?  Was Excel even around 29 years ago?  Did he scratch tick marks into his wall? 

We all have hobbies and “things” that we do.  This guy’s is obviously eating at McDonalds.  I can’t say that I have “one” thing that is all consuming – but I do have several hobbies.  For instance, I love music.  I have over 1500 songs on my iPod right now.  Double that on my computer.  I listen to all types.  Goes back to my days of being a DJ in college, I suppose.

What is your “obsession” – Big Macs?  Chick fil-A nuggets?  Something else?

6 thoughts on “>McGluttony

  1. >I think when Guiness recognized his record he was able to provide receipts for the purchases. No way to confirm that he actually eats the BMs but he at least purchased them.While I'd certainly not want to set any sort of record for anything McDonalds (except maybe avoiding it), I've spent pretty much my entire working career (17 years) having 2 bagels for breakfast Monday-Friday.

  2. >I didn't read the article but this reminds me of a guy on Oprah several yuears ago for the same thing. If this is the same guy, he even keeps them in his freezer in case he gets snowed in.

  3. >First, props for working in the Clark Griswold reference!Second, my guess is he uses Training Peaks to log his BigMac eating.Third, the real question is does he have a coach? (-:

  4. >I live in Wisconsin, about 15 miles away from where the Big Mac man lives, so I've heard a lot about this guy in the last few weeks.Not only does he keep the receipts, he also keeps the cartons the Big Macs come in. Here's a link to a story about that historic 25,000th Big Mac. http://www.jsonline.com/news/wisconsin/121989104.htmlAnd I don't think I could ever eat the same thing day in and day out for 29 years.

  5. >I can honestly say that I've never had a BigMac, but I might have eaten "chicken" nuggets from there a time or two! 🙂

Comments are closed.