>A Senseless Death

>Far too often we read about a tragic accident involving a person on a bike and a person in a car or truck. Typically, and unfortunately, when we do hear about these encounters, the end game is that someone usually dies.

And it’s happened again, but this time it happened so very close to home.

This past Wednesday afternoon was beautiful here in northeast Florida. In fact, perfect in almost every way. The sun was out. There was very little breeze. The temperature was in the low 80’s. It was a great day for a bike ride. Or so thought Bryan Wringley.

Photo courtesy of Florda Times Union (www.jacksonville.com)

Around 4pm, Bryan was on a ride in rural Saint Johns, FL. He was hit and killed by someone who left the scene of the accident. Bryan was a 23 year old student from South Carolina attending the University of St Augustine.

This was such a senseless crime. And while I didn’t know Brian, this was a senseless loss of life.

Bringing this closer to home is the fact that the road upon which Bryan died is one I have cycled on numerous times myself. When I was training for Ironman Florida in 2009, I incorporated the very stretch of road where he died into my long rides. The road is typically not heavily traveled, but there’s no real shoulder to speak of. Regardless, I felt safe on that road.

I know one accident shouldn’t scare me. The odds are probably better that I’d get hit by lightning than get run over by a car or truck. Nevertheless, it gives me pause. Will I be safe on that road? What about other roads in the area?

Rest in peace, Bryan. I hope all the roads in heaven are paved with bike lanes.

16 thoughts on “>A Senseless Death

  1. >Terrible. Very sad indeed. Really hits home that, no matter how careful we think we are while on the road, if someone else isn't paying attention we are at risk.Scary stuff.

  2. >When I open my reader, the first thing I saw was that horrible pic and my gut instantly dropped, sad tragedy. I will remember this when I attend the Ride of Silence later this year, my thoughts andf prayers go out to his family

  3. >This sort of tragedy always makes you think twice about your long outdoor rides, especially when it's this close to home. My condolences to his friends and family.

  4. >Wow Joel, so senseless. And so cruel, what type of person could do something like this and leave the scene? Crazy. We do need a constant reminder that we need to pay attention at all times, that training on the roads is dangerous and we should treat it that way. My thoughts and prayers go out to his family.

  5. >That really does suck. And for the person to leave the scene of the crime is just unforgivable. I hope they find that person.

  6. >I've been following the story and it's just awful. So young and just left like that. It seems like we have had so much of that lately. Sunday I was by the 210 bridge at the beach and I had an SUV come within a foot of me. Is North Florida just getting worse?

  7. >I am just getting here, but oh man this is just terrible. What bothers me most about this is that the car who hit him left. Awful. I often wonder if cars see me and feel fortunate that I ride in a place without cell service so people at least are not distracted by texting or something.The other thing that bothers me – I have heard a lot of stories lately about bikers being hit, and often times people leave.

  8. Pingback: Cyclists Worried About Buzzing « TriMadness!

Comments are closed.