>TriMadness Coaching Series – Thanks & Credits

>It’s not often that a journalist takes the time to write about his sources. It’s rarer for one to actually thank them. OK, I know it may be a stretch for me to call myself a journalist, but you get the point. Now that the TriMadness Coaching Series has reached its end, I thought it was fitting to tell you about the folks who helped me as I wrote this series.

To give you a little background as to how I came up with the idea to write this series, you should know that over the past six months or so, I’ve been thinking about whether or not I wanted to personally hire a coach. Those thoughts (and the research I did as part of that process) were the genesis for this blog series.

As I noted early on in this series, I did quite a bit of reading on the topic. I found a couple of blog posts (incidentally both by Trakkers teammates) that were very insightful to me. The first post was by Megan Killian; the second post was by Jamie Bull.  Jamie & Megan debated the efficacy of hiring a coach, laid out some keys to success in using a coach, and touched on the benefits of self-coaching.

While not quoted in the series, much of my early research (while I didn’t know it would lead to an article series for my blog) came courtesy of Carole Sharpless. Carole and I had several email conversations last fall about coaching. Many of her thoughts and suggestions – especially those regarding the types of questions one should ask a prospective coach – are included herein. Carole’s insight is unique in that she is both a coach and a stud athlete as well.  For more about Carole, check out her blog at http://carolesharpless.blogspot.com/.

I would be remiss if I did not specifically call out and thank my Trakkers teammates. When I decided to write this series, I reached out to them asking for potential sources. I wanted to know who they used as coaches and whom they thought I should speak with.

While I spoke with almost a dozen different coaches as part of my research, I principally quoted four coaches in the series. Detailed below is information regarding their background as well as their website address.  I obviously cannot vouch for them as coaches (duh, since they haven’t, you know, coached me), I can tell you that each of them were mini oracles of knowledge.  Without their assistance, I likely would not have been able to write the series.

Angela Bancroft (Paris, Maine). Angela is with TriMoxie Multisport. She is a Level 1 USAT Certified coach. She has participated in triathlon since 2006. She was a USAT All-American, and has several Ironman 70.3 and Ironman distance finishes. She qualified for and raced in the 2008 Ironman 70.3 World Championships, finishing fifth in her age group. Additionally, Angela competed in the 2009 Ironman World Championships in Kona. Angela can be contacted at http://www.trimoxiecoaching.com/ or via her blog at http://www.angesdrivetotri.blogspot.com/.

Mary Eggers (Henrietta, NY). Mary owns Train-This Multisport Coaching. She is a Level 1 USAT Certified Coach that has participated in triathlon since 1996. She was a collegiate swimmer prior to taking up triathlon. She can be contacted at http://www.ironmomma.com/.

Ben Greenfield (Spokane, WA). Ben owns Ben Greenfield Fitness and works with Rockstar Triathlete Academy. Ben has participated in triathlon since 2004. He has his Master’s degree in exercise physiology and biomechanics, is certified in strength and conditioning from the NSCA, and is a certified sports nutritionist. In addition to coaching services, Ben is a prolific writer and publishes podcasts about triathlon training. You can find more information at http://www.bengreenfieldfitness.com/ or http://www.rockstartriathleteacademy.com/.

Elizabeth Waterstraat (Lisle, IL). Elizabet is a Level II USAT Coach and a USAT Certified Youth & Junior Coach. She has more than 10 years of experience competing as both an amateur and professional triathlete, including three top-ten finishes in Ironman 70.3 races as a pro. She has an impressive race result resume, including a win at Steelhead 70.3, age group wins at Buffalo Springs 70.3 and Eagleman 70.3, and a top 10 age group finish at the Ironman World Championships in Kona. For more information, go to http://www.multisportmastery.com/.

One thought on “>TriMadness Coaching Series – Thanks & Credits

Comments are closed.