>G.R.I.T.S.

>“Sure, I’ve heard of grits. I’ve just never seen a grit before.” – Vinnie Gambini (My Cousin Vinnie)

If you’ve ever lived south of the Mason-Dixon line, you are probably aware that the term GRITS has two meanings.  The first, is the aforementioned breakfast food.  Grits are basically ground up corn.  They’re rather tasty – served with butter, cheese, a little salt maybe.  They’re delectable in a dish called shrimp & grits.



Grits, the breakfast food



The other meaning for the term GRITS is Girls Raised In The South.  Think Scarlett O’Hara.  Daisey Duke.  Syrup-thick southern accents, packaged with lots of “ya’ll”, “yonder”, and “honey”.  Again – as a product of the south, I have absolutely nothing bad to say about GRITS in this fashion.  That being said though, I did stray (I married an Italian from New Jersey!).



G.R.I.T.S. – Girls Raised in The South

 Today, I’m here to introduce you to a new meaning for the term GRITS:  “Great Running In The South.”  Yes, the vast majority of the United States is blanketed in snow and ice.  It’s cold.  Damn cold in some places.  So cold that even a short run around the block would leave your eyebrows frozen over like Sir Edmund Hillary on his trek up Mount Everest.



What 90% of the USA is running in this week

 This week, the South has been wonderful.  It’s been sunny, warm and pleasant.  Take today, for example.  75 degrees.  Perfect running weather. 



Great Running In The South in the Winter!

 So…while for some, it’s so cold that an ice cube would get frostbite, winter in Florida is just about perfect!  Warm sunny days, cool nights.  Winter & spring in the south bring some of the best running weather around.  All of this adds up to bring us Great Running In The South!

8 thoughts on “>G.R.I.T.S.

  1. >Now that there is creative and funny. I'm one of those that got dumped on and lovin' it! I'll be in San Diego on Sunday and have to admit, I am looking forward to more mild temps to run in.

  2. >I am a GRIT who loves Grits and I believe you about GRIT, but that doesn't really make me like you right now…maybe I should return to my roots. 😉

  3. >Guess you need a selective definition of the south. Texas is colder than Philly this week and Tennesee was much colder when I was down there a few weeks back. Of course after two monster ice storms this week, I'll take Tampa and some G.R.I.T.S. in a second.

  4. >Thanks for rubbing it in..it was -3 this AM!!! :)I love shrimp and grits. And chedder grits. My grandpa is from West Virginia and is a big grit eater.

Comments are closed.