>A Panic Ensues

>A few weeks ago, I raced in the Jacksonville Bank 1/2 Marathon.  During that race, I suffered what I thought was a calf cramp in my right leg.  It was the most painful thing I’ve ever encountered during a race. 

I stopped.  I stretched.  I walked some.  I limped as I ran.  I HTFU’d. 

And then, after the race, I hobbled.  For days.

My foam roller and I became inseparable.  My pet lacrosse ball became my best friend.  I tried, and tried…but despite my best efforts, I couldn’t roll out the knot from the cramp.

Suddenly, after four days of pain, it dawned upon me.  I hadn’t merely suffered a cramp.  I’d likely strained my calf.  Super.  Great.  Fantastic.

Fast forward to today.  I’m precisely 40 days from toeing the line at the 26.2 with Donna – The National Marathon to End Breast Cancer.

And I’m freaking out.  I should have logged an 18 mile run already.  I’ve got a 20 miler scheduled for this weekend…and I haven’t run at all in two weeks.  How the hell am I going to get this done!

Well…I’m going to pick back up on my plan.  I’m just going to run slower.  And change my time expectations for the race a little.  But I’ll get it done.

I’m still in a panic though.

8 thoughts on “>A Panic Ensues

  1. >I am with One Hour Ironman! Don't make your injury worse! Take your time, heal and then conquer races. I have made the mistake to many times to count so please learn from my mistakes because obviously I cannot!

  2. >I hate to say this and will file it under the "Do as I say, not as I do!" mantra – But you should go see a Doc. Not b/c you can't HTFU but b/c the Doc might be able to give you some cortisone pills.

  3. >Have you tried ART – active release therapy? My chiropractor does it and it really helps work out the knots and kinks we all get. I know it sucks to have to re-evaluate your race goals but hang in there and speedy healing thoughts are coming your way from me!

  4. >the way of the endurance warrior! šŸ™‚ I agree that a trip to doc might not be a bad idea. Just to see if s/he can give you some ideas on how to fix it…

Comments are closed.