>The 5 Mile Time Trial

>As part of my fall run training, I’ve incorporated weekly 5 mile time trials into my routine.  The intent is to go comfortably hard, but not so hard that I have any latent soreness the next day or that my next run is negatively impacted.

Each of the last 4 weeks, I’ve set a new PR. 

Tonight’s run, you might ask?  The five mile time trial.

So how did it go?  Happy to report that I am 5 for 5 in terms of new PR’s.  Set another one tonight – 43:36 – which comes out to 8:42/mile.  Here’s the really crazy thing for me – the 5th mile was done in 8:02.  That last mile only happes to be the second fastest mile I’ve run in a long, long time.  The fastest was a mile in 7:57 Tuesday night as part of a 3 mile run.

Just for a little background context, back on August 24th, I did the same run in 48:39.  So, in just 12 weeks, I’ve dropped FIVE MINUTES from my five mile time.  That feels pretty darn significant to me, and it’s the fastest I’ve run in probably 25 years!

I certainly don’t want to jinx myself, but it sure is feeling like I’m on target to PR my half marathon on Turkey Day!

3 thoughts on “>The 5 Mile Time Trial

Comments are closed.