>The Apprentice

>No…I'm not the next contestant to face The Donald. That said, this past weekend I was an apprentice! It's been a while, but I've posted before about my son, the swimmer. He swims competitively year-round. His club is looking to host their first meet in the spring, and to do so, we must have a certain number of certified judges. A couple of months ago, I went to a seminar to learn how to be a stroke & turn judge – and this weekend I began my 20 hour apprenticeship. Overall, I enjoyed my experience, although I can report that becoming proficient at judging strokes is going to take me a little while. See, I don't have a swim background, other than what I've picked up in the last couple of years with triathlon and having a swim-team kid. That being said, though, I don't see this any different than me needing to really learn football when I coached that, or lacrosse when I coached that. I may never be as good a judge as if I had grown up in the pool, but hopefully I'll be serviceable. Some early observations: Even though I live in Florida, having wet feet for four hours on a 60 degree day is not so much fun; children who are 6 & under (and perhaps 8 & under) really shouldn't swim breaststroke or fly in a judged meet unless they REALLY know how to properly stroke and kick; the behind-the-scenes view of a big swim meet is pretty interesting.

4 thoughts on “>The Apprentice

Comments are closed.