>Holy Wind, Batman!

>I'm spending my week in the northern plains, in Sioux Falls, SD. Before I left Florida last night, I glanced at the weather forecast so I would know what type of running stuff to pack. Yeah…I know. I should have looked to see what type of work clothes to pack, but since I really hate running on treadmills, I wanted to be prepared to run outside. When I landed last night, it was cool (50's) and raining. Not too bad. I got up this morning to go out to run – just a short 3 mile recovery run from my long run on Sunday. As I stepped out into the South Dakota darkness, I was greeted not only by chilly temps, but by a howling wind. Always the brave one, I charged out into the morning, dead set to do my run. Except, try as I might, I was literally unable to make progress. The wind was WHIPPING. I don't think I've ever tried to run in a stiffer wind. I relegated myself to head back indoors to the treadmill. As I was running, the TV in the hotel gym was on the local news station. Apparently, there's a HIGH WIND WARNING today and tomorrow. Sustained winds near 40 MPH with gusts close to 60 MPH. For a Floridian, winds that high are usually accompanied by a named tropical storm (a/k/a hurricane). Truly unbelievable. In fact, the forecast calls for scattered snow showers tomorrow. Snow? It 'ain't even winter yet! At least I know what my running workouts are going to look like this week…long sessions on a treadmill (oh joy). Maybe I'll build up enough bravery (or perhaps foolhardiness) to attempt a run outside. Not sure I'll set another 5 mile PR if I try to do it in 50 MPH winds, though. 🙂

4 thoughts on “>Holy Wind, Batman!

  1. >Welcome to the Midwest! We are experiencing those winds up here in Fargo as well. However, we are expected to get 4-8 inches of snow over the next 24 hours or so! YUCK!Just another day in ND…

  2. >We are having the same weather in Colorado Springs and I am not liking it one bit! Definitely will be on my trainer and not outside riding this afternoon.

Comments are closed.