>Quest for Speed

>

My hero:  The Roadrunner!

It’s a harsh reality to admit (publicly, alas, on a blog) that you’re not a fast runner.  I used to be fast.  Of course, that was back in 1986 when I ran track and cross country in high school.  I haven’t been fast since.  Like many middle-aged (gosh, that’s another really scary thing to admit) guys, I started this triathlon life fat, out of shape, and ready to eat anything in sight. 

I had plodded through a couple of seasons of 5 & 10k’s and progressed up to a half marathon.  I was still a recreational runner.  No.  A jogger.

I became a triathlete.  Like many, I started with sprints, then Olympic distances.  I graduated to 70.3, and last year went the full monte and did a 140.6.  I’m hooked on triathlon.  That said, my weakest link is my run.  I’m still a jogger.  A plodder.

I’ve been working on changing that. 

About three weeks ago, I set a half marathon PR.  I vowed to set another half marathon PR this fall.  I’ve got two races to go before Christmas.

How am I progressing?  I think I’m on the right track.  Each week, my first run of the week is a 5-mile run.  I’m using it as a barometer of my progress.  Last week, I ran and had  pretty darn good run.  In fact, I think it was an “adult life” PR.  (Adult Life means anything after my high school track/xc career).

Last week’s 5-mile run:  46:18.
This week’s 5-mile run:  45:14 (negative splits the whole way: 9:33, 9:14, 9:00, 8:56, 8:28)

Me:  2  Turtle Pace: 0

I’m still not “fast”, but I’m getting faster, and that’s what counts.  It’s a quest for speed.

5 thoughts on “>Quest for Speed

  1. >Joel – I feel the same way as you. It's good you use a run to be the barometer for your training. As long as you are getting faster every week, you are doing the right thing. Keep up the good work!

  2. >looks good to me. AND THE PROGRESS IS GREAT. You may be an inspiration to my run whoa's. I too am trying to find speed in my later years, after so much time away it's been a challenge. But I'm committed to finding it. I'll keep an eye on you

Comments are closed.