>Triathlon & The Seven Deadly Sins

>A couple of years ago, fellow blogger Steve Stenzel wrote a blog entry (and an article in the Examiner of St. Paul) regarding a triathlete's seven deadly sins. You can find the article here<http://www.examiner.com/triathlon-in-st-paul/a-triathlete-s-seven-deadly-sins-part-1>. It's really a funny article, and so true in many ways. After re-reading Steve's post, I started thinking about how envy, vanity, lack of humility – and in general, narcissism, play a role in triathlon. Let's be honest. Triathletes (generalizing) aren't the most humble folks. Especially those who are 1st time Ironman competitors. We talk about our training. We ask people to follow us online. We talk about how much time we spend swimbikerunning. We post online about our efforts and results. We spend far too much time away from our families and loved ones training. In a lot of ways, what we do is pretty darn selfish. While generalizing, I know that I'm guilty of it. I wonder why we are like that? Is it that we're looking for validation of our hobby/sport choices? Are we simply that vain? Are we looking for acceptance? I really don't know the root cause. I'm not well enough versed in psychology to render an opinion. I do find it curious to think about though. What are your thoughts? To what extent does this generalization paint triathletes in a poor light with the "general" population?

6 thoughts on “>Triathlon & The Seven Deadly Sins

  1. >We do spend time away, I just make sure I try and workout whenever everyone else is either in bed or generally unavailable. It doesn't always happen, but I try and make my training fade into the background instead of be the focus.Until you get me up to Park City Utah and then all bets are off…

  2. >i know that I talk about my training a lot, some times it is becasue i am proud of what I am doing, but mostly, it is hard not to talk about something that takes up this much of my life. I train atleast one hour a day, spend an hour or more looking at other athlete's blogs, another hour looking for training articles, another hour shopping for gear. That's almost as many hours as i sepnd at work. It's hard not to talk about something taking up so much of my life.

  3. >I have giving this alot of thought lately, and I think, one of the reasons is because this in an individual sport, what happens is a direct result of what we do, the triumphs are caused by you alone, the failures are caused by you alone (most of the time, there are circumstance, but I think you sorta understand what I mean) Its a fine line that we walk.

  4. >Type A personalities …I think we talk about how we spend our time – hence all the tri talk. I don't talk about IM as much this go round, so I have mellowed out some too.I do hate it when someone asks me tri questions in front of someone else who has heard it incessantly though – I just feel bad about boring them with the same old stuff!

  5. >Everyone who has already posted has made awesome comments. Yes, triathlete = type A personality. I don't know how a person could do this sport with anything less.I just had a conversation about this same subject with a friend of mine. It can be very difficult to not be consumed by this sport that we pretty much eat, sleep and breathe. Even when I'm doing "other" things, somewhere deep in my brain I'm thinking about swim/bike/run. That being said, now that I've been doing this for a few years, I have found ways to 'remove' myself from the whole insanity– but it's a challenge. Blogland certainly doesn't make it any easier. Most of my circle of friends do endurance sports. I guess we all gravitate towards each other. With those who don't, I try not to talk "triathlon" unless they ask me a specific question.

Comments are closed.