>Push ’em Out

>

Over the past couple of years, I have read the book Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell a couple of times.  The book recounts the story of a U.S. Navy Seal team’s mission in Afghanistan in 2005.  A good chunk of the book is dedicated to the actual mission that Luttrell and his comrades went through, but there’s a sizeable portion of the book about Seal training.  One things in particular stood out to me:  Navy Seals are the real deal.  Their level of physical training is incredible.

Two phrases stuck out to me from the book:  “Get wet and sandy,” and “Push ‘em out”.  “Push ‘em out” refers to push-ups.  Seal drill instructors would tell the Seal candidates to do push-ups for virtually any reason whatsoever.  Run slow?  Push ‘em out.  Get too cold from being in the water all the time?  Push ‘em out.  Look at the D.I. wrong?  Push ‘em out.

So why am I writing about this?

I’m pushing them out.

After reading several about other blogger’s efforts to complete the 100 Push-Up Challenge, I’ve decided to give it a go as well.  The goal of the challenge is to get to a point where I can do 100 push-ups non-stop.  I’m in my second week of training, and let me say that this is going to be brutal.  But fun.  And good for me.  My son is doing the challenge along with me.  Granted, he can do more push-ups than I can (duh, he’s 11, I’m 42…he’s supposed to be able to do more than me), but we’re still doing this together.

Will I be able to be a Navy Seal at the end of this challenge?  Um.  No. 

But, I will be able to push ‘em out as if I were.

 

5 thoughts on “>Push ’em Out

  1. >yeahhhh! 100 PU Challenge is for real. It ended up being a heck of a lot harder than I expected and it took me the entire 6 weeks to crack the 100 barrier. The good news is that you will look super buff in your Tri top after about 2 weeks!

  2. >Good luck with the challenge! I want to do this soon! I will probably do it in the fall when my other training slows down.

  3. >I've started the PU challenge a couple of times before, but something always came up and I never got through it. Maybe I'll try it again. Thanks for posting this.

  4. >Soooooo cool. I did 50 (non-consecutive) in a workout the other day and was purdy darn sore. My friend gave me crap for doing knee push-ups so these were all the real deal. I told him he was going to have to come over and blow dry my hair for me since I wouldn't be able to raise my arms after that…lol. You've got my interest peaked. I wonder how long it would take me to be able to do it….hmmmm.

Comments are closed.