>Fly Like a Butterfly…

>

Last week I came across an interesting article in the Wall Street Journal.  The article was about a new endurance sports fad…long distance swimming using the butterfly stroke.

Apparently, there are folks out there that satisfied with merely completing an Ironman or climbing Everest.  For the real fitness freaks, why not go out and do a multi-mile swim doing nothing but butterfly?  The article profiled a guy from Chicago that recently swam the 1.5 mile distance from Alcatraz Island to San Francisco.  He also completes in an annual race called the Big Shoulders 5k…a 3.1 mile swim…of nothing but butterfly.  And people think triathletes are crazy.

If you’ve ever tried butterfly, you know full well that this is probably the most difficult of the four strokes.  The dolphin kick is tough for some to get a hang of, as is the arm stroke.  Frankly, for me, it’s exhausting.  I’m not sure that I could swim 50 meters of butterfly, let alone a mile.  I’m amazed, and frankly flabbergasted, that anyone would (or could) swim butterfly that far.

What do you think?  Do you mix butterfly in to your swim routines?  If you do…were you a swimmer as a kid?  

Anyone up for a challenge in June?  Maybe something along the lines of whoever swims the most butterfly wins a package of Tri Swim products?  Let me know your thoughts.  Perhaps we’ll do a little contest…

You can read the article here.

 

3 thoughts on “>Fly Like a Butterfly…

  1. >I think you are on to the next generation of Mdot race. 2.4 miles of just butterfly. Can you imagine the mass start and the head beating that would be going on with both arms swinging at the same time??

  2. >I like the challenge idea – but can I use Terry Laughlin's modified approach where he essentially uses a breaststroke kick? Apparently, that was legal at one point in time although no longer!JB

  3. >I was a swimmer as a kid, and the last time I did butterfly was as a kid, I would never do the fly in a tri, too exhausting, I still have a bike and run to complete, I wont train for it either, I do occasionally train the back and breast stroke, as "in case of emergency" strokes to use if something happens during a race swim

Comments are closed.