>Man versus Food

>

I have a problem.  My problem is food.  Basically, I like food too much.  Not just any food, either.  Mostly I like food that is really crappy for me.  I eat way too much fried food.  Too much processed food.  Too much bacon. 

My excuse is that I exercise so that I can eat what I want.  In reality, though, I eat because I like food.  I like the taste.  I like texture.  I eat when I’m not hungry – just because it’s there.  I eat too many chips.  Too many Buffalo wings.  Too many fries.  I always clean my plate, even if I’m full.  I like ice cream too much. 

I’ve gained almost 15 pounds since I finished my Ironman back in November.  

So, I’m making a resolution (is it weird to make a resolution in the fourth month of the year?).  Here it is.  I’m giving up fried food, cookies, deserts, processed food, etc. My goal is to give these things up forever, but I need to be realistic about that.  I, therefore, will take baby steps.  At this point, I’m giving up this stuff for the remainder of April.  I’ll re-set the goal and make changes as needed at the beginning of May.  I’m tempted to give up sodas too, but not sure that I can really accomplish that.  Also – I’m going to be more cognizant of portion size…try to reduce 2nd helpings, etc.

Wish me luck.  It’s way too easy to say I’m going to do this stuff, and then not do it.  The proof will be in the pudding (pun intended).

 

Don’t forget to sign up for my contest (see below post) for some awesome Tri Swim products!

 

7 thoughts on “>Man versus Food

  1. >I am with you. I haven't had to worry about weight for the last 4 years, then all of a sudden I am 15lbs. overweight and can't take it off. The culprit – food. Too much gluten free junk food in the house and frankly, I like how it tastes. I'm stepping away from the icing and dropping 15 lbs. NOW. We can give up the bacon together!

  2. >Small changes can go a long way!! I've made some major changes to my diet too, and am more focused on what I'm eating… I can feel the difference immediately. For some reason, I also dropped soda… used to *need* at least one diet coke/coke zero per day… haven't had in about 2 weeks now, and I'm not even missing it! Good luck, you can do it!

  3. >I agree with Mel, small changes go a long way. I started incorporating more fruits and veggies and noticed that they filled me up more and I had less appetite for the crappy foods! Good luck!

  4. >Good luck man… I fight the same demons and the older you get, the harder it is to lose the weight. Sometimes it is good to have the once a week or month "splurge" to keep it real.

  5. >Joel – I love to eat too! I am about 3 pounds up from IMFL, which all hits my stomach. If I could just put the fork down! 🙂 Good luck and keep us posted.

  6. >Good luck!! I am constantly seeking that balance of mostly healthy with a little bit of splurging, but can't seem to do it. I almost always do better when it's just all or nothing.

Comments are closed.