>Ultragen Review & CONTEST

>

Just returned from a nice spring break trip with the family to the Sarasota, FL area.  A couple of good stories to tell, but I’ll save those for future posts.  Today’s post is the long overdue product review and a contest!

It seems like a couple of months ago I placed my first big order with First Endurance.  I busted the bank, and got one of just about everything on the menu.  I’ve been enjoying EFS Drink.  I also bought Pre Race and Optygen HP, but haven’t used them yet.  I also bought a case of Liquid Shot – but each Liquid Shot packs in about 400 calories, and I haven’t done anything that requires that kind of nutrition yet this year.  More to come on these products later on this spring.  I have used Ultragen several times. 

Ultragen is touted as the most advanced recovery drink.  If you read the literature on First Endurance’s website, you’ll find tons of good information about the product (including how Ultragen gives you 320 calories, 60g of glucose, two types of proteins, and vitamins, minerals, glutamine and branch chain amino acids).  More importantly, you’ll learn that Ultragen is a recovery drink intended to be used in the first 30 minutes following a tough workout.  Here’s the rub…I think this stuff really tastes GREAT!  I bought the cappuccino flavor, and damn if it doesn’t taste just like a coffee drink.  Ultragen comes in a BIG plastic jar – the interesting fact is that you use two scoops of the powder for 12 oz of water.  The mixed up concoction resembles a shake in consistency, but is really easy to drink.  It’s easy on the stomach, too – although I have found that if I drink it too fast, I tend to get a little…um…(well…no real polite way to say this…) gassy.  This probably relates more to my weird stomach than anything the drink contains.  Have I been able to see significant differences in my post-workout recovery?  Too early to say at this point.  What I can say for sure is that Ultragen is a great tool to use to replenish immediately following a tough workout, it tastes great, and it’s relatively easy on the stomach.  Give it a try and let me know your thoughts!

 

A week or so ago (right before my trip to KC and my vacation), I promised a giveaway.  So here it is.  And just because I don’t have any cool pictures to upload, here’s what I’ll do:

The first ever Tri Madness Product Giveaway!!!

One by-product of the triathlon lifestyle is that we triathletes spend far too much time hanging out in giant cement ponds that are loaded down with chlorine.  Chlorine is rough on the skin.  We get all itchy and dry skinned after too many hours in the pool.  Our blond hair turns green (OK, I don’t know this from personal experience…I have black hair, and very little of it).  Basically, chlorine stinks.  Tri Swim has created a product line of goodies that remove that smell and make us smell…well…a little less like a triathlete.

The folks over at Tri Swim sent me a starter kit (complete with 2oz each of Shampoo, Conditioner, Body Wash and Lotion).  I’d like to give this away.  Here’s the deal:  I’ll run the contest for a little over a week (it will end at 11:59pm ET on 4/11/2010) and you can earn up to three entries for yourself.  At the end of the contest time, I’ll use a random number generator to pick the winner.  The winner gets said schwag from Tri Swim.

Here’s how to enter and get your three entries):

  1. Comment on this post for 1 entry.
  2. Follow my blog by clicking on the “follow” icon over on the side of the page.  If you’re already a follower, just let me know in your comment for #1 above, and I’ll give you 2 entries.
  3. Link back to my contest on your blog for your 3rd entry.  

So, your entry comment might look like, “Hi, this is Joel from Jacksonville.  Sign me up for the contest.  I signed up to follow your blog, and have a link to your blog on my blog at blahblah.blogspot.com.  So, sign me up for 3 entries!”

 

8 thoughts on “>Ultragen Review & CONTEST

  1. >Does the recovery drink havee L Glutamine in it? I have found that alone works great for muscle recovery.I work in an industry that uses 50,000 tons of chlorine a year. I would probably need a lot of the stuff to clean up that amount?

  2. >Oh you have no idea how hard the chlorine is on my body! I would love this product! I am already a follower so count me in for TWO ENTRIES!

  3. >Hey, I'm a new follower to your blog and I've been looking for some good post-swim products. Count me in for 2 entries! Whitney

Comments are closed.