>A New Triathlete?

>

I’ve mentioned before that my son, Carter, is a swimmer.  So, I pick him up from practice last night, and he told me, “I did a triathlon today!”

My interest piqued, I asked him to explain a little.

He proceeded to tell me that he and a friend of his created their own triathlon and raced each other.  They swam 100 yards in our pool, did a 2 mile bike and a 1 mile run.  All in about 20 minutes.  He was very proud of his accomplishment, and was careful to point out that he beat his friend by 2 steps.

He then told me he was going to add a little bit of distance every day so he could work up to do an Ironman when he is 18.  The next phrase out of his mouth was, “Will you race it with me, Dad?”

Now, I’m not one of those super-emotional, cry at the drop-of-a-hat guys, but that got me all choked up.  How cool would racing an IM with him be?

Last weekend at IMFL, I met a family of racers.  Both Mom & Dad had done about 10 IM races each.  Both had raced in Kona (qualified, not gotten in by lottery).  Their college aged daughter was about to do her first race.  The dad told me that crossing the finish line with his daughter was going to be a huge highlight for their family.

I can only imagine how proud I’ll be when I get to complete a triathlon with my son.

 

3 thoughts on “>A New Triathlete?

  1. >Big Daddy Diesel pointed me to your blog — glad he did! My last post is somewhat similar to yours!! Looking forward to following his training and journey! 🙂

  2. >Ok, this post made me cry … I hope he sticks with it. I saw your family all over the FL course – what a great support system! No wonder he caught the bug!

Comments are closed.