>On the clock…

>T-minus 15 days and change until IM Florida.

I’m starting to get excited and nervous. Why nervous? Because it was just about eight weeks ago that I attempted my first Ironman race. IM Louisville. Attempted? Yes. Finished? No. I made it through the swim – slower than I expected, but not a horrible time. I survived the bike. Barely. The course was advertised as rolling hills. Yeah, right. Only if you live in Nepal. For a dude from Florida, the hills were rough. Too many. Too steep. I was either going 40mph or 13 mph. Not much in between. More than 7 hours of time in the saddle. Closer to 7 ½ hours. WAY more than I expected. The run…who am I kidding. It was a walk. Yep. I walked most of the course. I made it 18 miles, and DNF’d at 10:30p. No way I’d have made the finish before the cut off. So why am I nervous? I don’t want to re-live what happened in Louisville again when I get to Panama City Beach.

Other reasons I’m nervous: I HATE ocean swims. I always seem to drink half the ocean. I can’t breathe bilaterally, and as luck has it, I always seem to be breathing on the side where the waves are coming from. I don’t want to look like food for some giant carnivore swimming around in the Gulf. My luck, some giant bull shark will come and take my arm off!

Excited? Heck yes! I WILL become an Ironman. I will have a better bike ride. I will run much more (if not all) of the course. My family is coming to watch the race! I want to finish in front of my kids and wife. A friend will be volunteering as a finish line catcher. He became and Ironman at IMKY, and he’s coming down just to watch me become one.

Ironman is a race against the clock. You have 17 hours to finish. I’ll be on the clock to beat that time. I’m on the countdown clock until the race starts.

One thought on “>On the clock…

Comments are closed.